2017 Spirituality & Sustainability Awards Dinner

The Center for Spirituality and Sustainability presented their 14th annual Spirituality and Sustainability Awards Dinner on Saturday, March 25th. Each year the Center bestows two awards, one for Spiritual Leadership and one for Leadership in Sustainability. These dual awards reflect the Center’s mission to “promote humanity’s sacred connection to the Earth and each other.” The 2017 recipients are:

MCT Trails system – Sustainability Leadership Award - Madison County Transit manages 130 miles of scenic bikeways in the MCT Trails system that consists of 9 unique, inter-connected trails, created primarily from decommissioned railways.

Dr. Billie Mayo – Spirituality Leadership Award - Dr. Billie Mayo has just completed a year as Board President of the Interfaith Partnership of Greater St. Louis.

Student Honoree; Wolf Mark Veverka is also receiving a 2017 Sustainability Leadership Award. During his tenure as a student at SIUE, he has taken a lead role in student sustainability initiatives on campus.